Skip navigation

Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor of Fargo

Dr. Tim Mahoney was elected Mayor of Fargo in a special election held on April 28, 2015. He was first elected to the Fargo City Commission in October 2005 and was re-elected in 2006, 2010 and 2014. The Mayor feels the most challenging part of his job is making sure voters' voices are heard and planning for their long-term needs and dreams.

Mahoney enjoys meeting residents and learning more about the issues that will affect the City's future. "The citizens of Fargo are wonderful and want to make it a better place to live," Mahoney said.

Professional and educational background
In addition to his job as a Mayor, Dr. Mahoney also works as a general and vascular surgeon at Internal Medicine Associates in Fargo and Lake Region Healthcare in Fergus Falls, Minnesota. 

Mahoney holds degrees from the University of Notre Dame, Tufts University, the University of North Dakota and Harvard University. 

Personal background
The Mayor was born in Devils Lake, North Dakota and has lived in Fargo
since 1980.

He is married to Kathy Mahoney, registered nurse. The couple has four children:
Ryan, Kaileen, Colin and Dylan.  They also have been blessed with four grandchildren. "We are a very active family and enjoy all that Fargo offers," Mahoney said.

You can reach Mayor Mahoney by e-mail at or by phone at (701) 241-1310.

Download the Mayor's high resolution image

 Mayor Mahoney

Mayor Dr. Tim Mahoney 


Messages from the Mayor Icon  

Read Mayor Mahoney's bi-weekly messages